Wish the patients with kidney disease a happy Christmas day ahead of time


What Are the Five Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)

Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) has a long development course and due to the severity of renal damage which is manifested as Glomurular Filtration Rate (GFR), this long course is separated into five stages. Well then, what are the corresponding GFR and symptoms in different stages? What we should do in different stages?
Stage one Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) is characterized by GFR which is more than 90ml/min as well as mild kidney damage. In this stage, there is no symptom at all and the kidney damage is reversible. Therefore, people with stage one Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) should fond the root cause of it and then bring it under control.
When GFR decreases to the range from 60 to 89ml/min, then we can say Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) has run to stage two. Similar to stage one, there are no symptoms observed in this stage. In addition,creatinine(High Creatinine Levels) and urea level are normal or slightly high. People with stage two Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) should monitor creatinine level, blood pressure and general health. Try some preventive measures to stop or slow down the worsening of kidney function.
With GFR ranging from 30 to 59ml/min, early symptoms which include elevated blood pressure, tiredness, poor appetite, itchy skin, urination changes and anemia can be felt. If treatment can not be given in this stage, these symptoms will become more and more serious which may affect their normal activities.
Characterized by GFR from 15 to 29ml/min, Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) in stage four have more serious symptoms. What’s worse; severe complications such as cardiovascular disease will be caused. In this stage, if people receive effective treatment actively, then it is still possible for them to get their disease controlled. Usually, people with stage 4 Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) need to prepare for dialysis or kidney transplant, if they do not determine to receive any therapies.
The last stage is stage five and in this stage, the GFR is lesser than 15ml/min. Most of the time, only by doing dialysis or kidney transplant, can they live a normal life.

Although with dialysis or kidney transplant, people with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) can live a normal life, kidney transplant and dialysis is very expensive. Moreover, these two methods also can put them in danger. Therefore, people suffering from Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)  should receive effective treatment as early as possible, so as to prevent Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) in early stages from developing into stage 5. For more information, please email to me or consult our consultant online.

Leave a Message

Full Name:
Phone Number:
Medical Report:
Disease Description:

24-hour doctor online, free consultation on kidney disease related issues