Wish the patients with kidney disease a happy Christmas day ahead of time


Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Stages

There are total five stages about Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) and the division of stage is mainly based on the Glomerular Filtration Rate (GFR) which is an important index measuring renal function.
Among these stages, kidney function is normal in stage 1 and slightly decreased in stage 2. Symptoms of Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) usually appear as early as stage 3 and become more severe in stage 4. With the arrival of stage 5, people suffering from CKD begin to do dialysis or kidney transplant which are two traditional methods for people with seriously damaged kidneys to adopt.
In the first two stages, say stage 1 and stage 2, renal damages are not strong enough to affect our normal life, so we usually do not feel uncomfortable and as result, CKD in early stage is hard to be found. GFR in these two stages are more than 90 mL/min/1.73 m2 and 60~89 mL/min/1.73 m2.
As kidneys are damaged further, a series of symptoms eventually appear in stage 3 in which the corresponding GFR is 30 mL/min/1.73 m2 ~ 59 mL/min/1.73 m2.The possible symptoms in stage 3 are fatigue (Fatigue and Kidney Disease), swelling, foamy urine, frequent urination at night, vomit, lower back pain, nausea (Nausea and Vomiting for Kidney Disease), high blood pressure (High Blood Pressure and Kidney Disease), changed urine color and itchy skin and so on. Although these are caused by renal damage, they play a role in aggravating Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) , so removing these symptoms by bringing CKD under control is of great importance.
Usually, stage 4 which is characterized by GFR ranging from 15 to 29 mL/min/1.73 m2 is the period that needs people suffering from it to prepare for dialysis or kidney transplant. However, nowadays, with the development of medical technology, it is possible for people with stage 4 Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) to get their disease controlled as long as they receive the effective treatment.
The last stage, say Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) stage 5, is the end stage of renal failure which indicates that people with it have to do dialysis or kidney transplant. In addition, GFR in this stage is less than 15mL/min/1.73 m2.

Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) can help people understand kidney disease very well, so have a through knowledge is essential for people with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) . These are jus the basic information about Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) stages, if you want to know more details, you can leave message to me or consult our consultant online.

Leave a Message

Full Name:
Phone Number:
Medical Report:
Disease Description:

24-hour doctor online, free consultation on kidney disease related issues