Wish the patients with kidney disease a happy Christmas day ahead of time


About Chronic Kidney Disease Stages information

With a series of complicated symptoms, the long development course of Chronic Kidney Disease is divided into five stages in clinic. The stages of Chronic Kidney Disease are mainly based on the measurement of glomerular filtration rate.
Normally, if glomerular filtration rate is not lower than 90 mL/min/1.73 m2 and there are abnormalities point to kidney disease, then this person will be diagnosed with stage 1 Chronic Kidney Disease, even if the kidney function is normal. Gradually, when glomerular filtration rate decreases to the range from 60 to 89 mL/min/1.73 m2, meanwhile, there are renal damage founded by examination, and then we can say, Chronic Kidney Disease has run to stage 2. Generally, there are no obvious symptoms during these two stages; therefore, Chronic Kidney Disease in early stage is easy to be neglected.
Without effective treatment, Chronic Kidney Disease will development into stage 3 which is characterized by glomerular filtration rate from 30 to 59 mL/min/1.73 m2. Typically, symptoms such as swelling, hematuria(Hematuria and Kidney Disease) and foamy urine and some others will appear during this stage. Although stage 3 Chronic Kidney Disease has a certain distance from end stage of Chronic Kidney Disease, receiving effective treatment is of primary importance for the recovery.
As time goes by, stage 4 Chronic Kidney Disease with glomerular filtration rate in the range from 15 to 29 mL/min/1.73 m2 is more difficult to be treated. What’s worse, many severe complications such as vascular diseases are prone to appear in this stage. Therefore, to avoid damages to our other organs, people with stage 4 Chronic Kidney Disease should receive treatment as early as possible.
If we just leave it alone, then Chronic Kidney Disease will eventually develop into stage 5 in which stage the glomerular filtration rate is lower than 15 mL/min/1.73 m2. Generally speaking, people with stage 5 Chronic Kidney Disease have to undergo dialysis or kidney transplant.

These are the five stages based on the glomerular filtration rate and if you want to know more details about the five stages, please email to me or consult our consultant on line.

Leave a Message

Full Name:
Phone Number:
Medical Report:
Disease Description:

24-hour doctor online, free consultation on kidney disease related issues